Austrian Darts Open (ET7)
June 23-25 2017, Multiversum Schwechat, Vienna

Tournament Draw Bracket
Michael van Gerwen (1) v Wayne Jones/Christian Kallinger
Steve West (16) v Adrian Gray/Vincent van der Meer
Alan Norris (8) v Jamie Bain/Christian Kist
Ian White (9) v Rowby-John Rodriguez/Martin Schindler
Benito van de Pas (5) v John Henderson/Dirk van Duijvenbode
Daryl Gurney (12) v Jonny Clayton/Roxy-James Rodriguez
Simon Whitlock (4) v Vincent van der Voort/Tony Newell
Cristo Reyes (13) v Rene Eidams/Justin Pipe
Peter Wright (2) v Krzysztof Ratajski/Kim Viljanen
Stephen Bunting (15) v Chris Dobey/David Pallett
Kim Huybrechts (7) v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez/Ritchie Edhouse
Joe Cullen (10) v Dimitri Van den Bergh/Jamie Lewis
Jelle Klaasen (6) v Rob Cross/Andy Jenkins
Michael Smith (11) v Chris Quantock/Paul Rowley
Mensur Suljovic (3) v Ronny Huybrechts/James Wilson
Mervyn King (14) v Lee Bryant/Zoran Lerchbacher


Schedule of Play
Friday June 22
First Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
Vincent van der Meer 6-3 Adrian Gray
Chris Quantock 6-4 Paul Rowley
Jamie Bain 6-1 Christian Kist
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 Lee Bryant
Rene Eidams 6-5 Justin Pipe
Ronny Huybrechts 6-5 James Wilson
Kim Viljanen 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Christian Kallinger 6-3 Wayne Jones

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
John Henderson 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Martin Schindler 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Tony Newell
Chris Dobey 6-1 David Pallett
Jamie Lewis 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Roxy-James Rodriguez
Rob Cross 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse

Saturday June 23
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
Vincent van der Meer 6-4 Steve West 
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Rene Eidams
Michael Smith 6-2 Chris Quantock
Mervyn King 6-2 Zoran Lerchbacher
Jamie Bain 6-4 Alan Norris 
Benito van de Pas 6-3 John Henderson
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Chris Dobey 6-0 Stephen Bunting 

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
Martin Schindler 6-2 Ian White
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Christian Kallinger
Kim Viljanen 6-5 Peter Wright
Joe Cullen 6-3 Jamie Lewis
Jelle Klaasen 6-0 Rob Cross
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Ronny Huybrechts

Sunday June 25
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Vincent van der Meer
Martin Schindler 6-4 Jamie Bain
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Kim Viljanen 6-2 Chris Dobey
Joe Cullen 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Michael Smith 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Mervyn King 6-4 Mensur Suljovic

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Martin Schindler 
Cristo Reyes 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Joe Cullen 6-4 Kim Viljanen
Michael Smith 6-3 Mervyn King

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Cristo Reyes
Michael Smith 6-4 Joe Cullen

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Michael Smith

All games are the best of 11 legs. Sunday's games will be played in draw bracket order.

NB: Adrian Lewis withdrew from the Austrian Darts Open for health reasons, and was replaced in the field by a fifth Host Nation Qualifier.
Host Nation Qualifiers: Roxy-James Rodriguez, Rowby-John Rodriguez, Christian Kallinger, Zoran Lerchbacher, Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
East Europe Qualifier: Krzysztof Ratajski

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN won his third European Tour title of 2017 with a brilliant 6-5 defeat of Michael Smith in Sunday's Austrian Darts Open final at the Multiversum in Schwechat.

World Champion Van Gerwen has previously taken victories in Jena and Hamburg this year, and was victorious once again as he claimed the £25,000 title in dramatic fashion against Smith.

Former World Youth Champion Smith was bidding to follow up last month's Gibraltar Darts Trophy triumph with his second win of the year, and led Van Gerwen during a thrilling final.

The St Helens ace opened up a 2-0 lead, punishing his rival's miss at tops in the opening leg before breaking with a 13-darter which featured a 180.

Van Gerwen hit back to level, but Smith took out 86 on the bull to lead 3-2 and then brought the Austrian crowd to its feet with a magnificent 170 checkout for a 4-3 advantage.

Van Gerwen, though, hit back once more as a 14-darter squared the game before finishing double 18 for a 13-darter to break after Smith missed top for a 117 checkout.

Smith took out 70 in leg ten to force a decider, but Van Gerwen was first to a finish and took out 100 on tops for a 12-darter as he secured his 17th career European Tour win.

"This means a lot to me," said Van Gerwen, who had warmed up for the event with a visit to Rapid Vienna football club on Friday. "I came here to win and I'm glad I could do that, but I played well, especially today.

"Michael is getting back in form, he is a fantastic player and he kept me under pressure. The 170 finish was great and he put me under a lot of pressure, but I was really glad to win."

Van Gerwen followed up Saturday's second round win over Austrian Christian Kallinger by seeing off debutant Dutchman Vincent van der Meer, Germany's Martin Schindler and Spain's Cristo Reyes on his way to the final.

His semi-final win over Reyes saw the world number one record an unstoppable 115.57 average as he stormed through to take on Smith.

Four-time European Tour winner Smith had missed double 12 for a nine-dart finish during his quarter-final win over Mervyn King during another memorable day for the 26-year-old.

Having defeated Chris Quantock in round two on Saturday, he also saw off Jelle Klaasen in the third round on Sunday afternoon and was a 6-4 semi-final winner against Joe Cullen.

After being denied by Van Gerwen, Smith admitted: "I tried so much to keep him under pressure. Michael's number one for a reason and he deserves it."

Cullen's run saw him reach a first European Tour semi-final since March 2016, as he averaged an outstanding 107 in his 6-3 third round win over Kim Huybrechts before sealing a 6-4 quarter-final defeat of Kim Viljanen with a 160 checkout.

Reyes had performed superbly on Sunday to reach his second successive European Tour semi-final, edging out Simon Whitlock in a deciding leg in the third round before averaging 100 in a 6-3 quarter-final defeat of Daryl Gurney.

He shared the opening two legs of his semi-final with Van Gerwen, but was unable to stop the World Champion pulling away to victory.

Finland's Kim Viljanen won through to his first quarter-final on the European Tour as he followed up his victories over Krzysztof Ratajski and number two seed Peter Wright with a 6-2 third round defeat of youngster Chris Dobey.

Emerging German youngster Schindler was also appearing in a European Tour quarter-final for the first time following his 6-4 third round win over Jamie Bain, although Van Gerwen ended the 20-year-old's hopes in the last eight.

Austria's Mensur Suljovic was joined by fellow former European Tour winners Kim Huybrechts and Simon Whitlock, Dutch trio Jelle Klaasen, Benito van de Pas and Vincent van der Meer, emerging Chris Dobey and Scotland's Jamie Bain in losing out in the third round.

Schedule & fixtures

Live match

Commentary widget currently unavailable.
Statistics widget currently unavailable.
Head-to-Head widget currently unavailable.