Price denies De Sousa in Winter Gardens thriller to seal semi-final spot

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 22 2022

Gerwyn Price defied an inspired fightback from Jose De Sousa to book a spot in his first Betfred World Matchplay semi-final in one of the greatest games ever seen at the Winter Gardens.

Price in confident mood ahead of De Sousa showdown

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 22 2022

Gerwyn Price believes he’s getting back to his best as he continues his Betfred World Matchplay title tilt against Jose De Sousa on Friday night.

Van den Bergh wins Wright classic to set up MvG showdown

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 21 2022

Dimitri Van den Bergh dethroned reigning champion Peter Wright in a Betfred World Matchplay classic on Thursday night.

Wright and Van den Bergh set to renew Winter Gardens rivalry

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 21 2022

Peter Wright is relishing the prospect of renewing his Winter Gardens rivalry with Dimitri Van den Bergh in the Betfred World Matchplay quarter-finals on Thursday.

Emotional De Sousa back to his best in Blackpool

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 21 2022

Jose De Sousa was unable to hold back the tears after booking his spot in a first Betfred World Matchplay quarter-final at the Winter Gardens on Wednesday night.

Price prevails against Chisnall as trio break new ground

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 20 2022

The 2022 Betfred World Matchplay continues on Wednesday with four second round ties at Blackpool's Winter Gardens.

Comeback king Cross aiming to repeat 2019 heroics in Blackpool

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 20 2022

Rob Cross is desperate to capitalise on his Betfred World Matchplay lifeline when he takes on former Grand Slam champion Jose De Sousa for a place in the quarter-finals on Wednesday night.

Wright denies Ratajski in epic contest as Van Gerwen dumps out Cullen

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 19 2022

The second round of the 2022 Betfred World Matchplay gets underway on what promises to be a blockbuster Tuesday evening at the Winter Gardens.

Rodriguez insists 'I can beat anyone' ahead of Van den Bergh battle

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 19 2022

Rowby-John Rodriguez insists he can beat anyone in the world, as he prepares to take on his close friend Dimitri Van den Bergh for a place in the Betfred World Matchplay quarter-finals on Tuesday.

Epic Cross comeback sinks Dobey as Price powers through

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 18 2022

Rob Cross produced a remarkable comeback while Gerwyn Price also made it through to round two on Night Three.

The 2022 Betfred World Matchplay took place from July 16-24 at the Winter Gardens, Blackpool.

The summer's biggest darts tournament saw 32 of the world's top stars in action across nine days.

Michael van Gerwen claimed his third World Matchplay title, defeating Gerwyn Price in the final to lift the Phil Taylor Trophy.

Details of the 2023 Betfred World Matchplay will be confirmed in due course.

2022 Betfred World Matchplay
Schedule of Play
Saturday July 16
4x First Round

Krzysztof Ratajski 10-6 Stephen Bunting
Dimitri Van den Bergh 10-2 Callan Rydz
Peter Wright 10-4 Madars Razma
Rowby-John Rodriguez 10-7 Jonny Clayton

Sunday July 17
Afternoon Session
4x First Round

Dirk van Duijvenbode 10-8 Ryan Searle
Danny Noppert 10-6 Brendan Dolan
Daryl Gurney 10-7 Gary Anderson
Michael Smith 11-9 Andrew Gilding

Evening Session
4x First Round

Joe Cullen 10-2 Damon Heta
James Wade 10-4 Martin Lukeman
Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Adrian Lewis
Nathan Aspinall 10-5 Luke Humphries

Monday July 18
4x First Round

Rob Cross 11-9 Chris Dobey
Jose de Sousa 10-6 Gabriel Clemens
Gerwyn Price 10-8 Martin Schindler
Dave Chisnall 10-7 Kim Huybrechts

Tuesday July 19
4x Second Round
Dimitri Van den Bergh 11-6 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Nathan Aspinall 11-9 James Wade
Peter Wright 13-11 Krzysztof Ratajski
Michael van Gerwen 11-5 Joe Cullen

Wednesday July 20
4x Second Round
Danny Noppert 11-4 Daryl Gurney
Jose de Sousa 11-8 Rob Cross
Gerwyn Price 11-8 Dave Chisnall
Dirk van Duijvenbode 11-7 Michael Smith

Thursday July 21
2x Quarter-Finals
Dimitri Van den Bergh 16-14 Peter Wright 
Michael van Gerwen 16-14 Nathan Aspinall

Friday July 22
2x Quarter-Finals
Danny Noppert 16-11 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Gerwyn Price 16-14 Jose De Sousa

Saturday July 23
Gerwyn Price 17-11 Danny Noppert
Michael van Gerwen 17-14 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Sunday July 24
Afternoon Session

Women's World Matchplay

Lisa Ashton 4-0 Chloe O’Brien
Aileen de Graaf 4-1 Laura Turner
Fallon Sherrock 4-2 Katie Sheldon
Lorraine Winstanley 4-3 Rhian Griffiths

Aileen de Graaf 5-4 Lisa Ashton
Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Lorraine Winstanley

Fallon Sherrock 6-3 Aileen de Graaf

Evening Session
Michael van Gerwen 18-14 Gerwyn Price

Draw Bracket
(1) Peter Wright v Madars Razma
(16) Krzysztof Ratajski v Stephen Bunting
(8) Jonny Clayton v Rowby-John Rodriguez
(9) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Callan Rydz
(4) Michael van Gerwen v Adrian Lewis
(13) Joe Cullen v Damon Heta
(5) James Wade v Martin Lukeman
(12) Luke Humphries v Nathan Aspinall
(2) Gerwyn Price v Martin Schindler
(15) Dave Chisnall v Kim Huybrechts
(7) Jose de Sousa v Gabriel Clemens
(10) Rob Cross v Chris Dobey
(3) Michael Smith v Andrew Gilding
(14) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Ryan Searle
(6) Gary Anderson v Daryl Gurney
(11) Danny Noppert v Brendan Dolan

First Rounds - Best of 19 legs
Second Round - Best of 21 legs
Quarter-Finals - Best of 31 legs
Semi-Finals - Best of 33 legs
Final - Best of 35 legs

Prize Fund
Winner - £200,000
Runner-Up - £100,000
Semi-Finalists - £50,000
Quarter-Finalists - £30,000
Second Round Losers - £15,000
First Round Losers - £10,000
Total - £800,000