Wright eases through in Blackpool, as Rodriguez stuns Clayton

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 16 2022

Peter Wright began the defence of his Betfred World Matchplay title with victory over Madars Razma, as debutant Rowby-John Rodriguez dumped out eighth seed Jonny Clayton on a thrilling opening night at the Winter Gardens.

How to watch the 2022 Betfred World Matchplay

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 16 2022

The 2022 Betfred World Matchplay will be played in Blackpool from July 16-24, below are the ways you can watch live wherever you are in the world...

World Matchplay trends: Debutants, champions, top seeds & World Champs

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 16 2022

Darts stats supremo Richard Ashdown takes a look at four historical trends of the summer's biggest tournament...

Clayton hoping to rediscover winning formula at World Matchplay

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 16 2022

Jonny Clayton is hoping to rediscover the winning formula as he targets a first title of 2022 at the Betfred World Matchplay in Blackpool.

History-maker Heta targeting further success in Blackpool

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 15 2022

Damon Heta is hoping to make the summer an even more unforgettable one at the Betfred World Matchplay.

2022 Betfred World Matchplay preview

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 15 2022

The 2022 Betfred World Matchplay begins in Blackpool on Saturday, as the iconic Winter Gardens plays host to the showpiece event of the darting summer.

Betfred backing Macmillan Cancer Support with Blackpool charity activity

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 15 2022

Betfred will be backing Macmillan Cancer Support through their charity activity at the 2022 Betfred World Matchplay and Betfred Women's World Matchplay.

PDC Fantasy Darts launched for World Matchplay!

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 14 2022

Red-hot Humphries aiming high ahead of Blackpool bid

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 14 2022

Luke Humphries is aiming to cap off the best six months of his darting career to date by claiming his first televised ranking title at this year’s Betfred World Matchplay.

Refreshed Wright hoping to turn 'rubbish' 2022 around in Blackpool

Betfred World Matchplay

Jul 13 2022

Peter Wright says he is feeling refreshed ahead of his Betfred World Matchplay title defence.

The 2022 Betfred World Matchplay took place from July 16-24 at the Winter Gardens, Blackpool.

The summer's biggest darts tournament saw 32 of the world's top stars in action across nine days.

Michael van Gerwen claimed his third World Matchplay title, defeating Gerwyn Price in the final to lift the Phil Taylor Trophy.

Details of the 2023 Betfred World Matchplay will be confirmed in due course.

2022 Betfred World Matchplay
Schedule of Play
Saturday July 16
4x First Round

Krzysztof Ratajski 10-6 Stephen Bunting
Dimitri Van den Bergh 10-2 Callan Rydz
Peter Wright 10-4 Madars Razma
Rowby-John Rodriguez 10-7 Jonny Clayton

Sunday July 17
Afternoon Session
4x First Round

Dirk van Duijvenbode 10-8 Ryan Searle
Danny Noppert 10-6 Brendan Dolan
Daryl Gurney 10-7 Gary Anderson
Michael Smith 11-9 Andrew Gilding

Evening Session
4x First Round

Joe Cullen 10-2 Damon Heta
James Wade 10-4 Martin Lukeman
Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Adrian Lewis
Nathan Aspinall 10-5 Luke Humphries

Monday July 18
4x First Round

Rob Cross 11-9 Chris Dobey
Jose de Sousa 10-6 Gabriel Clemens
Gerwyn Price 10-8 Martin Schindler
Dave Chisnall 10-7 Kim Huybrechts

Tuesday July 19
4x Second Round
Dimitri Van den Bergh 11-6 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Nathan Aspinall 11-9 James Wade
Peter Wright 13-11 Krzysztof Ratajski
Michael van Gerwen 11-5 Joe Cullen

Wednesday July 20
4x Second Round
Danny Noppert 11-4 Daryl Gurney
Jose de Sousa 11-8 Rob Cross
Gerwyn Price 11-8 Dave Chisnall
Dirk van Duijvenbode 11-7 Michael Smith

Thursday July 21
2x Quarter-Finals
Dimitri Van den Bergh 16-14 Peter Wright 
Michael van Gerwen 16-14 Nathan Aspinall

Friday July 22
2x Quarter-Finals
Danny Noppert 16-11 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Gerwyn Price 16-14 Jose De Sousa

Saturday July 23
Gerwyn Price 17-11 Danny Noppert
Michael van Gerwen 17-14 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Sunday July 24
Afternoon Session

Women's World Matchplay

Lisa Ashton 4-0 Chloe O’Brien
Aileen de Graaf 4-1 Laura Turner
Fallon Sherrock 4-2 Katie Sheldon
Lorraine Winstanley 4-3 Rhian Griffiths

Aileen de Graaf 5-4 Lisa Ashton
Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Lorraine Winstanley

Fallon Sherrock 6-3 Aileen de Graaf

Evening Session
Michael van Gerwen 18-14 Gerwyn Price

Draw Bracket
(1) Peter Wright v Madars Razma
(16) Krzysztof Ratajski v Stephen Bunting
(8) Jonny Clayton v Rowby-John Rodriguez
(9) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Callan Rydz
(4) Michael van Gerwen v Adrian Lewis
(13) Joe Cullen v Damon Heta
(5) James Wade v Martin Lukeman
(12) Luke Humphries v Nathan Aspinall
(2) Gerwyn Price v Martin Schindler
(15) Dave Chisnall v Kim Huybrechts
(7) Jose de Sousa v Gabriel Clemens
(10) Rob Cross v Chris Dobey
(3) Michael Smith v Andrew Gilding
(14) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Ryan Searle
(6) Gary Anderson v Daryl Gurney
(11) Danny Noppert v Brendan Dolan

First Rounds - Best of 19 legs
Second Round - Best of 21 legs
Quarter-Finals - Best of 31 legs
Semi-Finals - Best of 33 legs
Final - Best of 35 legs

Prize Fund
Winner - £200,000
Runner-Up - £100,000
Semi-Finalists - £50,000
Quarter-Finalists - £30,000
Second Round Losers - £15,000
First Round Losers - £10,000
Total - £800,000