Michael Smith -  BetVictor Masters (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

2019 BetVictor Masters Day Two

BetVictor Masters

Feb 2 2019
MICHAEL SMITH enjoyed a winning return to action at the BetVictor Masters on Saturday night at The Marshall Arena.
Michael van Gerwen - BetVictor Masters (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

2019 BetVictor Masters Day One

BetVictor Masters

Feb 1 2019
MICHAEL VAN GERWEN made a winning start to his defence of the BetVictor Masters title in Milton Keynes on night one.
Michael van Gerwen (PDC)

2019 BetVictor Masters Preview

BetVictor Masters

Feb 1 2019
MICHAEL VAN GERWEN will be bidding for a fifth successive BetVictor Masters title at The Marshall Arena, Milton Keynes.
BetVictor Masters (PDC)

2019 BetVictor Masters Quiz

BetVictor Masters

Jan 31 2019

WIN a pair of tickets to the semi-finals and final of the BetVictor Masters by taking on our official quiz!

THE BetVictor Masters took place from February 1-3 at The Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes.

The first televised event of the year, shown live on ITV4, saw the top 16 players on the PDC Order of Merit battle it out for the first trophy of 2019.

2019 BetVictor Masters
Draw Bracket

(1) Michael van Gerwen v (16) Jonny Clayton
(8) Mensur Suljovic v (9) Simon Whitlock
(5) Daryl Gurney v (12) Dave Chisnall
Stephen Bunting v (13) Darren Webster (Gary Anderson withdrew due to a back injury)
(2) Rob Cross v (15) Joe Cullen
(7) Gerwyn Price v (10) James Wade
(6) Michael Smith v (11) Ian White
(3) Peter Wright v (14) Adrian Lewis

Schedule of Play
Friday February 1 (1900 GMT)

4x First Round
Dave Chisnall 10-8 Daryl Gurney
Mensur Suljovic 10-1 Simon Whitlock
Stephen Bunting 10-9 Darren Webster
Michael van Gerwen 10-5 Jonny Clayton

Saturday February 2 (1900 GMT)
4x First Round
James Wade 10-7 Gerwyn Price
Joe Cullen 10-6 Rob Cross
Michael Smith 10-5 Ian White
Peter Wright 10-9 Adrian Lewis

Sunday February 3
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

Dave Chisnall 10-4 Stephen Bunting
Michael van Gerwen 10-5 Mensur Suljovic
James Wade 10-6 Joe Cullen
Peter Wright 10-6 Michael Smith

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Michael van Gerwen 11-7 Dave Chisnall
James Wade 11-9 Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen 11-5 James Wade

First Round - Best of 19 legs
Quarter-Finals - Best of 19 legs
Semi-Finals - Best of 21 legs
Final - Best of 21 legs

Prize Fund
Winner £60,000
Runner-Up £25,000
Semi-Finalists £17,500
Quarter-Finalists £10,000
First Round Losers £5,000
Total £200,000

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN claimed an incredible fifth successive triumph at the BetVictor Masters with an 11-5 win over James Wade in Sunday's final in Milton Keynes.

The Dutchman is now unbeaten in 20 matches since the tournament's move to the Marshall Arena in 2015, having swept through the world's top 16 to take the £60,000 top prize.

On his return to action following victory in the World Championship final on New Year's Day, Van Gerwen had seen off Jonny Clayton to begin his challenge on Friday.

He then overcame Mensur Suljovic 10-5 in Sunday afternoon's quarter-finals and landed finishes of 170 and 141 in an 11-7 semi-final defeat of Dave Chisnall.

Van Gerwen fired in another maximum 170 checkout during the final as he denied 2014 champion Wade a second Masters title.

"I'm really pleased," said Van Gerwen. "It's a great venue for me and this is a tournament I love, so I'm delighted.

"I didn't play phenomenally in this tournament and there's more in the tank, but I'm hoping this is going to be the start of another good year.

"The tour gets more difficult every year and I'm trying to get better all the time. You want to be strong here to start the year well and give yourself confidence, and I've done that."

He added: "James did well to reach the final. He deserves a lot of credit because I think a lot of people underestimate him."

The pair shared the opening six legs, but Van Gerwen landed his second 124 finish of the game as he claimed four straight legs to move 7-3 up.

An 11-darter saw Wade hit back as he claimed two of the next three, but Van Gerwen pounced with a 70 finish to move 10-5 up before sealing glory on double eight.


Wade's run to the final saw him follow up Saturday's defeat of Gerwyn Price with a comeback from 4-0 down to defeat Joe Cullen in the quarter-finals.

He also battled back from 9-7 down in the semis against Peter Wright to claim an 11-9 victory, but was unable to claim a third TV title inside four months as Van Gerwen proved too strong in the decider.

"I take my hat off to Michael - he did the job and was quality," said Wade. "He gave me so many opportunities and I played really poorly in the final.

"There's still a lot more to come from me. I've got to the final and that shows what I've got to come."

Chisnall landed ten 180s in his superb 10-4 win over Stephen Bunting in the quarter-finals, while Wright was a 10-6 winner against World Championship finalist Michael Smith in the last eight.

Schedule & fixtures

Live match

Commentary widget currently unavailable.
Statistics widget currently unavailable.
Head-to-Head widget currently unavailable.