Record-breaking Van Gerwen insists: 'I'm not done yet!'

Cazoo Premier League

May 26 2023

Michael van Gerwen warned ‘I’m not done yet’ after celebrating a record-breaking seventh Cazoo Premier League crown at The O2 in London on Thursday night.

Van Gerwen powers past Price to secure record seventh PL title

Cazoo Premier League

May 25 2023

Michael van Gerwen produced an inspired display to defeat Gerwyn Price and secure a record-breaking seventh Cazoo Premier League title at London's O2 on Thursday.

2023 Cazoo Premier League Play-Offs preview

Cazoo Premier League

May 24 2023

The 2023 Cazoo Premier League will conclude with the Play-Offs in London on Thursday, as the final four compete for the £275,000 top prize at The O2.

2023 Cazoo Premier League Play-Offs programme & final sticker set available

Cazoo Premier League

May 23 2023

The programme for Thursday's Cazoo Premier League Play-Offs at London's O2 is now available to purchase online!

Van Gerwen set for medical checks ahead of Cazoo Premier League Play-Offs

Cazoo Premier League

May 18 2023

Michael van Gerwen will have further medical checks on an arm injury ahead of the Cazoo Premier League Play-Offs.

Van den Bergh triumphs in Aberdeen, as Clayton seals Play-Off spot

Cazoo Premier League

May 18 2023

Dimitri Van den Bergh signed off from this year’s Cazoo Premier League in style with victory on Night 16, as Jonny Clayton claimed Play-Off qualification on a dramatic night in Aberdeen.

Dobey insists Premier League experience will make him stronger

Cazoo Premier League

May 18 2023

Chris Dobey is aiming to round off his Cazoo Premier League campaign in style when he takes on reigning champion Michael van Gerwen in Thursday’s Night 16 quarter-finals in Aberdeen.

Aspinall hails Anderson influence ahead of decisive night in Aberdeen

Cazoo Premier League

May 18 2023

Nathan Aspinall believes that Gary Anderson’s advice can aid his bid for Cazoo Premier League Play-Off qualification in Aberdeen on Thursday.

2023 Cazoo Premier League - Night 16 preview

Cazoo Premier League

May 17 2023

The race for qualification for the Cazoo Premier League Play-Offs concludes in Aberdeen as Jonny Clayton and Nathan Aspinall collide in a crunch quarter-final tussle.

Clayton & Aspinall to battle for Play-Off qualification in Aberdeen

Cazoo Premier League

May 12 2023

The race for Cazoo Premier League Play-Off qualification will go down to the wire next week, as Jonny Clayton and Nathan Aspinall battle it out for the last remaining spot at London’s O2.

Michael van Gerwen edged out Joe Cullen in an epic final to clinch his sixth Cazoo Premier League title on an incredible night of action at the Mercedes-Benz Arena in Berlin on Monday.

Van Gerwen denied a heartbroken Cullen 11-10 in one of the greatest games to ever grace the Premier League stage, after the debutant missed a match dart at double 16 in a thrilling decider.

However, the Dutchman kept his cool to fire in a 13-darter and equal Phil Taylor’s haul of six Premier League titles, as he celebrates victory in a first PDC Premier event for over 18 months.

“I have been going through a really tough time, so to win this title means a lot to me,” reflected an emotional Van Gerwen, who eased past James Wade 10-4 in the semi-finals.

“I’m a happy man. Joe Cullen was phenomenal in that final. What a day. I’m over the moon.

“Of course I am going for more titles now. To have won this trophy here in Berlin is amazing. 

“This last 18 months has hurt me. I know what I’m capable of, but this crowd in Germany today, they were absolutely sensational. I think they were a credit to the sport.”

Cullen drew first blood in the final with a sublime 11-dart hold, but after spurning three darts to break in leg two, he saw Van Gerwen seize the early initiative with a sequence of three straight legs.

The Yorkshireman responded with back-to-back legs to restore parity, only for Van Gerwen to restore his two-leg buffer at 5-3 courtesy of a 12-dart break.

Cullen reduced the arrears with a spectacular 141 finish in leg nine, and a clinical 114 checkout in leg 11 sparked a run of three straight legs for the Masters champion, who edged 7-6 ahead.

The next five legs went with throw, before Van Gerwen appeared to strike the decisive blow in leg 19, converting a sensational 92 kill to break throw in 12 darts and move one leg away from glory.

The drama continued as Cullen broke straight back in 13 darts to force a decider, but it was the Dutchman who claimed the spoils via double 14, having survived a match dart in the previous visit.

“Michael is a fantastic player and a fantastic champion, but I am absolutely gutted,” admitted Cullen, who was bidding to become the third successive debutant to be crowned Premier League champion.

“I cannot believe I’ve lost, but credit to Michael, he is a great guy and a wonderful champion.

“I think the second leg cost me, missing three at 32 for a break of throw. I’m absolutely devastated.”

Earlier in the evening, Cullen produced an astonishing display of power scoring to thwart Jonny Clayton’s bid for back-to-back Premier League titles.

Cullen stormed into a remarkable 6-0 lead against the reigning champion before closing out a resounding 10-4 victory, averaging almost 101 and crashing in 11 maximums – equalling the tournament record for 180s in a match.

In the second semi-final, Van Gerwen defeated 2009 champion Wade by the same scoreline to book his place in a record-equalling eighth Premier League showpiece.

The opening six legs of the last four contest were shared, but a blistering burst from Van Gerwen saw him win seven of the last eight to pull away from Wade and triumph with a 99 average and six 180s.

Van Gerwen - who now returns to the Netherlands for surgery on an arm injury - pockets £305,000 in total from the Premier League season, with three nightly wins earning him a £30,000 bonus in addition to the £275,000 top prize.

Cullen, meanwhile, claimed £125,000 as runner-up and took home a further £20,000 in bonus prize money.

Table-topper Clayton's four night wins during the season boosted his £85,000 prize money to a total of £125,000, while Wade earned £105,000 following his strong season.