Watch Matthew Edgar's UK Open diary

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 24 2020

Matthew Edgar has shared his experience of the 2020 Ladbrokes UK Open through a unique video diary.

Gurney boosted by UK Open run

Cazoo Premier League

Mar 10 2020

Daryl Gurney is aiming to kick-start his Unibet Premier League campaign in Liverpool on Thursday.

Seventh TV nine-darter for Van Gerwen

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 08 2020

Michael van Gerwen achieved his seventh televised nine-darter in the semi-finals of the Ladbrokes UK Open!

Ladbrokes UK Open glory for nine-dart Van Gerwen

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 08 2020

Michael van Gerwen landed a nine-darter in the Ladbrokes UK Open semi-finals - and plays Gerwyn Price in the final.

Nine-Dart delight for Clayton

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 07 2020

Jonny Clayton landed his first nine-darter in a televised tournament at the Ladbrokes UK Open.

Ladbrokes UK Open: Day Two

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 07 2020

Jonny Clayton landed a nine-darter to headline a dramatic second day of the 2020 Ladbrokes UK Open.

How to watch: 2020 Ladbrokes UK Open

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 06 2020

Check out how you can watch the 2020 Ladbrokes UK Open wherever you are in the world.

Ladbrokes UK Open: Day One

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 06 2020

Michael van Gerwen and Chris Dobey produced the performances of the opening day of the Ladbrokes UK Open.

Ashton and Sherrock to make history at UK Open

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 06 2020

Lisa Ashton and Fallon Sherrock will be the first female competitors in the UK Open for over a decade.

Hopp withdraws from Ladbrokes UK Open

Cazoo UK Open

Mar 06 2020

Max Hopp has withdrawn from the Ladbrokes UK Open due to illness.

Danny Noppert defeated Michael Smith 11-10 in a dramatic Cazoo UK Open final to win his first televised title at Butlin's Minehead Resort on Sunday.

A tense climax to the 158-player tournament saw both players bidding to claim a televised ranking title for the first time, having come through the quarter-finals and semi-finals earlier in a dramatic third day of action.

Smith looked set to claim the biggest title of his career when - having earlier overcome world number one Gerwyn Price and youngster Keane Barry - he went 10-9 up in the final, only for Noppert to battle back in a captivating climax to the tournament.

The penultimate leg saw Smith miss a match dart at the bullseye for a 124 checkout, before Noppert pinned a crucial double four to hold throw and then fired in a 180 on his way to a 13-dart break to claim the title.

"I am over the moon, this is a special moment for me," said Noppert, who defeated Damon Heta and William O'Connor in the quarter-finals and semi-finals respectively.

"I can't believe it; I have said before that I want to lift a trophy but I never thought it would be at such a big tournament like the UK Open.

"It was a hard game at the end of a long day, we both wanted to lift this trophy so much and neither of us played like we can.

"I think I can take big steps forward in my career now."

Noppert, who became a father for the first time in February, climbs to 12th on the PDC Order of Merit courtesy of the £100,000 winner's prize.

Meanwhile, Smith was left dejected after suffering an eighth successive defeat in a televised final in a four-year period, missing 20 darts at a double in the final which included one for the title at the bullseye.

"I was trying too hard to win, fair play to Danny," said Smith. "It's yet another final loss, it's very hard to take.

"I can only blame myself, my doubles were awful and my scoring was bad."

The two-time World Championship runner-up came close to a perfect weekend in Somerset, having hit a nine-darter on Saturday.

Despite the defeat, Smith moves up to fourth on the PDC Order of Merit courtesy of the £40,000 runner-up prize.

Earlier in the day, Smith ended Price's reign as world number one with a quarter-final win over the Welshman, as Peter Wright moves top of the Order of Merit.

Polish 18-year-old Sebastian Bialecki's fairytale run also came to an end in the last eight as he went down 10-9 to William O'Connor.

Irish teenager Keane Barry ended James Wade's title defence in the quarter-finals, while countryman O'Connor also exited at the semi-final stage as the pair enjoyed their most successful runs in individual televised events.