James Wade (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Wade Tops Players Championship OOM

Players Championship Finals

Jun 24 2019
JAMES WADE'S win in Players Championship 18 has seen him jump to the top of the Players Championship Order of Merit.
Michael van Gerwen (Steve Welsh, PDC)

Van Gerwen Favourite For Fourth Title

Players Championship Finals

Nov 22 2018
MICHAEL VAN GERWEN is the pre-tournament favourite to win a fourth successive title at the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals.

THE 2019 Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals will take place from November 22-24 at the Butlin's Minehead Resort in Somerset.

Broadcast live on ITV4, the £500,000 event will feature the leading 64 players from the 2019 Players Championship Order of Merit following this year's 30 one-day ProTour events.

The 64-player tournament sees play split across two stages on the opening two days, before Finals Day is focused on the Main Stage.

Butlins offer Weekend Break Packages for the tournament, which include four nights' accommodation at the Butlins Minehead Resort and tickets for the three-day Players Championship Finals.

The weekend also includes the PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship final on Sunday evening.

To purchase, visit the Butlins Big Weekends website, or call 0330 102 5295 (calls charged at standard UK rates and may vary from mobiles).

Please note: Tickets are not sold separately, only as part of Butlins Big Weekends packages.

2019 Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals
Friday November 22
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

First Round

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
First Round

Saturday November 23
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

Second Round

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Third Round

Sunday November 24
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)


Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Semi-Finals & Final

2018 Report

DARYL GURNEY claimed the 2018 Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals title with a dramatic 11-9 victory over Michael van Gerwen on Sunday in Minehead.

An incredible finish to the £460,000 tournament saw Gurney show incredible resilience as he fought back from 9-8 down to win the final three legs for one of the biggest wins of his career.

There were tears of joy for emotional Gurney, who clinched the £100,000 title with a spectacular 85 checkout on the bullseye to end Van Gerwen's three-year reign as champion in the event.

"I'm over the moon with that win, it means to much to me," said former World Grand Prix champion Gurney.

"That was the best bullseye I've ever hit in my life, I was determined to make sure we didn't go to a deciding leg and I was relieved to see it go in.

"I knew I was playing well, I was hitting everything in practice and after a sticky start I straightened up my throw and I grew in confidence from there.

"To win this tournament is an unbelievable feeling and I'm going to enjoy this moment."

A tight opening to the final saw the first 12 legs all won on throw, before Van Gerwen took out 88 for a first break of the contest, only for a tenacious Gurney to break straight back.

World number one Van Gerwen broke throw once again to go 9-8 up, only for Gurney to show nerves of steel, taking out 88 in two darts to level at 9-9.

Gurney took out 32 to hold throw and go within a leg of the title, before a stunning 85 finish on the bull sealed a sensational win for the world number five.

For Van Gerwen it was a first televised ranking final defeat in 15 matches, but the Dutchman was keen to acknowledge the achievement of his rival.

"I think he played a phenomenal game," said Van Gerwen, who avenged his Grand Slam of Darts loss to Gary Anderson in the semi-finals.

"To be fair I think I let myself down and Daryl punished me because my performance was not 100 percent."

A dramatic day at the Butlin's Minehead Resort had also seen Gurney overcome Chris Dobey and Danny Noppert to book his spot in a third TV final.

Van Gerwen and Anderson produced a thriller in the semi-finals, while Stephen Bunting, Jonny Clayton and Steve Lennon - on his 25th birthday - were knocked out alongside Dobey in the quarter-finals.

Belgium's Dimitri Van den Bergh also enjoyed success on the Minehead stage as he retained the PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship title, defeating Martin Schindler 6-3 in the final.