THE Unibet European Championship will be held from October 26-29 at the Ethias Arena in Hasselt, Belgium.

The 32-player tournament sees players qualify through the European Tour Order of Merit, which includes prize money won in the 12 European Tour events throughout the year.

2017 Unibet European Championship

Seeded Players
1 Michael van Gerwen
2 Peter Wright
3 Michael Smith
4 Mensur Suljovic
5 Jelle Klaasen
6 Rob Cross
7 Joe Cullen
8 Simon Whitlock
Dave Chisnall, Benito van de Pas, Kim Huybrechts, Daryl Gurney, Mervyn King, Gerwyn Price, Cristo Reyes, Ian White, Stephen Bunting, Krzysztof Ratajski, Alan Norris, Vincent van der Voort, Martin Schindler, Christian Kist, John Henderson, Kyle Anderson, Dimitri Van den Bergh, Steve Beaton, Nathan Aspinall, Ronny Huybrechts, Jan Dekker, James Richardson, Darren Webster, Jonny Clayton.

Schedule of Play
Thursday October 26 (8pm local time, 7pm UK time)

First Round
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts
Alan Norris 6-4 Mervyn King
Ian White 6-5 Darren Webster
John Henderson 1-6 Kyle Anderson
Simon Whitlock (8) 6-3 James Richardson
Mensur Suljovic (4) 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Michael van Gerwen (1) 6-2 Jan Dekker
Jelle Klaasen (5) 6-0 Christian Kist

Friday October 27
Afternoon Session (1.45pm local time, 12.45pm UK time)

First Round
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Cristo Reyes
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Steve Beaton
Michael Smith (3) 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Rob Cross (6) 6-0 Martin Schindler
Joe Cullen (7) 5-6 Stephen Bunting
Peter Wright (2) 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski

Evening Session (8pm local time, 7pm UK time)
Second Round
Jelle Klaasen 6-10 Kyle Anderson
Simon Whitlock 10-0 Alan Norris
Michael van Gerwen 10-1 Ian White
Mensur Suljovic 10-4 Gerwyn Price

Saturday October 28 (8pm local time, 7pm UK time)
Second Round
Michael Smith 10-9 Benito van de Pas
Rob Cross 10-7 Dave Chisnall
Stephen Bunting 6-10 Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright 10-8 Jonny Clayton

Sunday October 29
Afternoon Session (1.45pm local time, 12.45pm UK time)

Michael van Gerwen 10-5 Simon Whitlock
Kyle Anderson 10-7 Mensur Suljovic
Peter Wright 5-10 Daryl Gurney
Rob Cross 10-4 Michael Smith

Evening Session (8pm local time, 7pm UK time)
Michael van Gerwen 11-10 Kyle Anderson - Kyle Anderson hits nine-dart finish
Daryl Gurney 3-11 Rob Cross

Michael van Gerwen 11-7 Rob Cross

First Round - Best of 11 legs
Second Round - Best of 19 legs
Quarter-Finals - Best of 19 legs
Semi-Finals - Best of 21 legs
Final - Best of 21 legs

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN withstood a nine-dart finish from Kyle Anderson and the challenge of Rob Cross to claim his fourth successive Unibet European Championship title in Hasselt on Sunday night.

Dutch star Van Gerwen's dominance of the European Championship continued as he scooped the £100,000 first prize and retained the title once again, although he was pushed all the way on a thrilling final day.

Having seen off Simon Whitlock 10-5 in the quarter-finals, Van Gerwen found himself staring defeat in the face during a see-saw semi-final with another Australian, Kyle Anderson.

Anderson led 2-0 and 3-2 before Van Gerwen took four legs in a row to move ahead, but then the Auckland Darts Masters winner achieved perfection in leg 11, hitting two 180s before finishing 141.

Van Gerwen hit back to lead 8-5, but Anderson then took four legs to put himself back ahead before the game went to a deciding 21st leg, where the Australian missed two match darts before the World Champion finished 76 to snatch victory.

Van Gerwen then took on shooting star Cross in the final, and was pushed all the way before finally reclaiming the title with an 11-7 triumph - matching Phil Taylor's achievement of four successive wins in the event from 2008-2011.

The final's opening five legs went with throw to leave Cross 3-2 up, despite a 104 finish from Van Gerwen, before the world number one fired in a ten-darter in leg six and a 12-darter to break and move 4-3 up.

Cross hit back with a 12-darter, bizarrely scoring 39, 180 and 180 before finishing 102 with an improvised single one, treble 17 and bullseye combination to square the game at four-all.

After Van Gerwen claimed the ninth leg, Cross also landed an 11-darter to level once more, but Van Gerwen took four of the next five to pull clear at 9-6.

Van Gerwen then landed a seventh 180 and a 130 bullseye finish in a 12-darter to move a leg away from the win, and though Cross replied on tops it was the Dutchman who sealed a stunning victory on double 16.

"I think it was a great final," said Van Gerwen, who averaged 108.91 in an imperious display in the final. "Rob kept putting me under pressure and I had to play well.

"I didn't realise my average in the final was so high but I'm really happy with that.

"I didn't play my best game in the semi-final but I'm really glad I won this title - it feels good for me and it means a lot to me. I always want to perform and I want to keep playing well."

Cross had won through to his first TV final by continuing his brilliant debut year on the circuit as he saw off Michael Smith 10-4 in the quarter-finals and then raced past Daryl Gurney 11-3 in the semi-finals.

The former electrician from Sussex, who has won four ranking titles and reached two European Tour finals this year, picked up £40,000 as runner-up and also qualifies for next month's bwin Grand Slam of Darts in Wolverhampton.

Cross averaged 102.39 in defeat in the final, and admitted: "I had one flat session and that's what cost me, those five legs after the second break, but I've had a fantastic week.

"Michael is phenomenal and he's a player for me to look up to with what he's doing in the game and his dominance. What I've done in ten months is amazing but I want to keep progressing and enjoying it too."

World Grand Prix champion Gurney had been bidding to claim his second televised title as he produced a fine performance in a 10-5 quarter-final win over Peter Wright, but was unable to repeat the feat against Cross.

Anderson had reached his first televised ranking semi-final with a 10-7 win over Mensur Suljovic in the last eight, and alongside £20,000 prize money he also claimed a £25,000 bonus for his nine-dart finish at the Ethias Arena.

"I loved every minute of it," reflected Anderson, of a semi-final in which he landed 11 maximums.  "The nine-darter was great but I wanted to get to the final and to win this tournament.

"I had my opportunity but the double ten and double five were on the wrong side of the wire and full credit to Michael."

Schedule & fixtures

Live match

Commentary widget currently unavailable.
Statistics widget currently unavailable.
Head-to-Head widget currently unavailable.