2023 Bahrain Darts Masters preview

World Series of Darts

Jan 11 2023

The 2023 Bahrain Darts Masters begins on Thursday, as World Champion Michael Smith makes his first competitive appearance since lifting The Sid Waddell Trophy last week.

Van Barneveld relishing World Series of Darts return in Bahrain

World Series of Darts

Jan 11 2023

Raymond van Barneveld is determined to show that he can still compete with the sport’s elite when he makes his World Series of Darts return at the Bahrain Darts Masters.

World Champion Smith draws local star in Bahrain Darts Masters

World Series of Darts

Jan 10 2023

Michael Smith will make his first competitive outing as World Champion when he takes on local qualifier Abdulnasser Yusuf in the first round of the Bahrain Darts Masters.

Van den Bergh headlines 2023 Nordic Darts Masters field

World Series of Darts

Jan 04 2023

Reigning champion Dimitri Van den Bergh will headline the field at the 2023 Nordic Darts Masters on January 20-21, with the stars for the World Series of Darts event in Copenhagen now confirmed.

Bahrain Darts Masters spot for Clayton

World Series of Darts

Jan 04 2023

Jonny Clayton will complete the line-up of PDC representatives for the inaugural Bahrain Darts Masters on January 12-13.

Mahmood & Yusuf qualify for Bahrain Darts Masters

World Series of Darts

Dec 21 2022

Bassim Mahmood and Abdulnaser Yusuf have secured their qualification for the 2023 Bahrain Darts Masters

Humphries & Van Barneveld among Bahrain Darts Masters field

World Series of Darts

Dec 13 2022

Luke Humphries will make his World Series of Darts debut at the inaugural Bahrain Darts Masters in January, as Raymond van Barneveld returns to the global stage.

New York, Wollongong & Hamilton 2023 ticket info confirmed

World Series of Darts

Nov 30 2022

Tickets for the 2023 World Series of Darts events in New York, Wollongong and Hamilton will go on sale from early December.

World Series of Darts to debut in Bahrain in January 2023

World Series of Darts

Sep 26 2022

Bahrain International Circuit, together with sports promoter CBX, has teamed up with the PDC to bring the World Series of Darts to Bahrain for the first time.

World Series of Darts to break new ground as 2023 schedule announced

World Series of Darts

Sep 26 2022

The PDC World Series of Darts will break new ground in 2023 with the introduction of a tournament in Bahrain in January.

Jonny Clayton claimed his first World Series title in Australia with victory at the PalmerBet New South Wales Darts Masters, dispatching James Wade in front of a record-breaking crowd in Wollongong.

There were 4,000 fans packed into the WIN Entertainment Centre to see Clayton capture his first title of 2022, courtesy of a comprehensive 8-1 win over Wade in Saturday’s showpiece.

The former World Series Finals winners were both vying to claim their first World Series tour titles, but Clayton stole an early march to establish a 3-0 cushion.

Wade followed up his first maximum with a trademark ton-plus finish to open his account, only for Clayton to restore his three-leg cushion with a 14-darter, which he followed with a 120 checkout to lead 5-1.

The Welshman refused to relent as he stretched his buffer to 7-1, before sealing the deal in spectacular style, taking out a brilliant 160 finish to scoop the £20,000 top prize.

“This means a lot to me,” said an emotional Clayton, who surrendered just six legs on Finals Day to secure his second World Series of Darts crown.

“I knew I needed to keep James under pressure because we all know what James can do, and luckily for me I kept him under pressure.

“Hopefully this can kick-start the rest of my year. Last week I didn’t turn up, but I lost to a much better player, and now I’m looking forward to next week.”

Earlier in the day, Clayton secured a place in the semi-finals with a battling 6-4 victory over third seed Michael Smith, taking out a brilliant 136 finish to seal his progression.

The Welshman then stormed through to Saturday’s finale with a crushing 7-1 victory over Joe Cullen, avenging his defeat against the Yorkshireman in June’s Cazoo Premier League semi-finals.

Wade was bidding to win his first PDC title since March 2021, and he produced some impressive displays in Saturday’s closing stages, whitewashing top seed Dimitri Van den Bergh in the last eight.

The ten-time TV title winner punished a profligate display from the Belgian, firing in four 180s and taking out 127 and 104 checkouts to book his place in the last four.

The left-hander then produced a ruthless display of combination finishing to dump out world number one Gerwyn Price in the semi-finals.

Wade kicked off proceedings with a sublime 140 outshot, before winning the final three legs to complete a convincing 7-3 success and seal his place in a first final Down Under since 2015.

“I just got smashed to pieces by Jonny,” reflected a candid Wade post-match.

“I am really disappointed with how I played in the final, but Jonny is one of the few players I don’t mind losing to.

“I didn’t play anywhere near Jonny’s level and he did what he needed to do. The only thing he did wrong was lose a leg!”

Elsewhere, Price posted his second highest televised average to dispatch Fallon Sherrock in the quarter-finals, averaging 109.98, hitting four 180s and converting six of his nine attempts at double.

Meanwhile, Cullen ended the hopes of Australia’s World Cup hero Simon Whitlock, defying a partisan atmosphere to close out a 6-2 win and make it back-to-back semi-finals Down Under.

The World Series of Darts roadshow will culminate with the TAB New Zealand Darts Masters at Hamilton’s Globox Arena from August 26-27, as Michael van Gerwen bids to defend his crown.