ROB CROSS' victory in the Brisbane Darts Masters meant that the 2018 World Series of Darts has seen a greater spread of tournament winners than ever before.

Cross claimed his first win on the World Series circuit, and his first televised title since becoming World Champion on New Year's Day, by defeating Michael van Gerwen in Sunday's final in Brisbane.

Cross joined five other players - including Van Gerwen - in claiming a win in the six international World Series events held across the globe this year.

Cross also went on to finish joint top of the World Series Order of Merit, alongside Melbourne Darts Masters winner Peter Wright, on 37 points, with Auckland Darts Masters champion Van Gerwen a point behind.

US Darts Masters winner Gary Anderson, Shanghai Darts Masters winner Michael Smith and German Darts Masters champion Mensur Suljovic joined that trio in the top eight, alongside Raymond van Barneveld and Simon Whitlock.

The top eight now qualify by right for November's World Series of Darts Finals in Vienna, where they will be joined by a further 16 players to compete across three days.

Click here to see the final 2018 World Series Order of Merit

2018 World Series of Darts Winners
Mensur Suljovic
- German Darts Masters (May)

Mensur Suljovic (MMP, PDC)

Gary Anderson - US Darts Masters (July)

Gary Anderson (Tom Donoghue, PDC)

Michael Smith - Shanghai Darts Masters (July)

Michael Smith (PDC)

Michael van Gerwen - Auckland Darts Masters (August)

Michael van Gerwen (Photosport, PDC)

Peter Wright - Melbourne Darts Masters (August)

Peter Wright & Michael Smith (PDC)

Rob Cross - Brisbane Darts Masters (August)

Rob Cross - Brisbane Darts Masters (PDC)

The World Series of Darts Finals will be held from November 2-4 at the Multiversum in Schwechat, Vienna, Austria. For tickets, visit the PDC Europe website.