In light of Damon Heta's stunning win at the Brisbane Masters last weekend, we've come up with a top five of the biggest shocks ever seen on the World Series stage.

The 2019 World Series of Darts continues on Friday with the start of the Brisbane Darts Masters.

5. Royden Lam 6-5 Gary Anderson (2018 Shanghai Darts Masters)

A landmark day for Asian darts saw Hong Kong's Lam become the first Asian representative to beat a PDC star.

Anderson missed a hatful of doubles in the opening three legs and found himself 2-1 down rather than 3-0 in front.

The two-time World Champion showed resilience to take the tie to a last-leg decider but Lam stayed cool under pressure to get himself over the line.

Dawson Murschell (PDC)

4. Dawson Murschell 6-5 James Wade (2017 US Darts Masters)

Canadian youngster Murschell described his dramatic win over Wade in Las Vegas as one of the biggest nights of his life.

The 21-year-old overcame big-stage nerves, having made his TV debut just a day earlier in the North American Championship, to take a 3-1 lead only for Wade to battle back and take the match to a last-leg decider.

After Wade missed six match darts in a tension-filled deciding leg, Murschell hit tops to clinch a memorable win.

Corey Cadby (PDC)

3. Corey Cadby 6-2 Phil Taylor (2016 Perth Darts Masters)

Heading into the 2016 Perth Masters, Taylor had won all six of the World Series events held in Australia dating back to 2013.

However, a 111.65 average wasn't enough to get the better of young Australian talent Cadby, who made his TV debut in defeat to Taylor in Sydney a week earlier.

Cadby dusted himself down and bounced back in style, announcing himself to the world with a high-quality victory over the 16-time World Champion in the second of four meetings between the pair, all of which came on the World Series.

Warren Parry (PDC)

2. Warren Parry 6-5 Michael van Gerwen (2014 Sydney Darts Masters)

With Van Gerwen leading Parry 5-1 and seemingly cruising in the quarter-finals of the 2014 Sydney Masters, few would've predicted what was to come.

New Zealand veteran Parry showed incredible resolve and fighting spirit to reel off four successive legs to take the tie to an unlikely tie-break.

The unrelenting Kiwi produced another strong leg in the decider, and with Van Gerwen waiting on a skin-saving 71 checkout, Parry found tops with his last dart in hand to claim one of the biggest wins of his long career.

Damon Heta (PDC)

1. Damon Heta wins 2019 Brisbane Darts Masters

There could only be one player in the number one spot. Heta's achievements in Brisbane were off the upset scale.

Not satisfied with just one upset win in Brisbane against James Wade in the last 16, Heta overcame Gary Anderson and Simon Whitlock, both 8-6, to reach become the first Australian player to reach a PDC final in their home country.

With Cross leading 6-4 it seemed that Heta, who was celebrating his 32nd birthday, would fall just short of completing the fairytale, but the DPA number one battled back to take the match to a sudden-death shoot-out, despite surviving a match-dart.

The final leg saw Heta hold his nerve to pin double 16 and claim the unlikeliest of title wins to the delight of the Brisbane crowd.