Clayton claims tenth 2021 Unibet Premier League place

Jonny Clayton (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Jonny Clayton has secured the tenth place in the 2021 Unibet Premier League following his Masters success.

Nine players were announced for this year's Premier League following the World Championship final on January 3 - with the tenth spot being left open until after The Masters.

Clayton and Mervyn King both won through to the final with some superb darts across the weekend - with the latter knocking out World Champion Gerwyn Price in the semi-finals and the Welshman overcoming Michael van Gerwen on Saturday.

The Masters final became a shoot-out for the tenth Premier League place, with Clayton's 11-8 triumph seeing him progress to complete the field for the prestigious event.

The victory for Clayton follows his triumph alongside Price for Wales in the World Cup of Darts last November, while he also made a Challenger appearance in the 2020 Premier League against Michael Smith in Cardiff.

However, he will now play full-time in the forthcoming season, which is scheduled to commence around Easter after being delayed from the traditional February start.

Jonny Clayton

Clayton only learned of his Premier League place as he prepared to lift the Masters trophy when the news was confirmed on stage by MC John McDonald, but will fulfil an ambition to compete in one of darts' biggest events.

"To hear that up there [on stage] was a shock," he admitted. "I'm over the moon, absolutely chuffed to bits. I was hoping for a place in the Premier League - it's amazing."

Clayton also works as a plasterer but will consider becoming a full-time professional after claiming his second televised title and a Premier League place.

"Maybe it is time," he admitted, speaking on ITV. "I need to give it my best shot that I've got so it's a lot of hard thinking, big chats with [wife] Elen and the kids, so let's see."

Clayton's inclusion in the Premier League sees him join Dimitri Van den Bergh, Glen Durrant and Jose de Sousa, who all won their first PDC televised titles in 2020.

2021 Unibet Premier League Participants
Gerwyn Price

Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright
Rob Cross
Nathan Aspinall
Gary Anderson
Dimitri Van den Bergh
Glen Durrant
Jose de Sousa
Jonny Clayton