Price, Wright, Van Gerwen & Clayton headline Nordic Darts Masters field

Gerwyn Price (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Gerwyn Price, Peter Wright, Michael van Gerwen and Jonny Clayton are amongst the headline names confirmed for September's Nordic Darts Masters in Copenhagen.

The inaugural PDC World Series of Darts event at Forum Copenhagen will see 16 players competing on September 17-18, live on Viaplay and worldwide.

The Nordic Darts Masters will give eight top players from the region their chance to take on eight leading PDC stars, headlined by reigning World Champion Price and three-time World Champion Van Gerwen.

In addition, July's World Matchplay winner Wright and 2021 Masters and Premier League champion Clayton will travel to Copenhagen to star in the event.

Scotland's Gary Anderson, Belgium's Dimitri Van den Bergh and England's Nathan Aspinall will also be in action, alongside history-maker Fallon Sherrock, who became the first female player to win at the PDC World Championship in 2019.

The Nordic & Baltic competitors are headed by PDC Tour Card Holders Darius Labanauskas, Madars Razma, Daniel Larsson and Marko Kantele - who will represent Lithuania, Latvia, Sweden and Finland respectively.

The Danish trio of Andreas Toft Jørgensen, Niels Heinsøe and Ivan Springborg Poulsen will carry the flag in their home country, and Sweden's Johan Engström completes the field after winning the PDC Nordic & Baltic qualifier.

"To have the World Series back in action at the Nordic Darts Masters is great for everyone and there's a huge amount of excitement ahead of this event," said PDC Chief Executive Matt Porter.

"The field for the Nordic Darts Masters is a great showcase of the sport at the moment, with our biggest stars and emerging talents joined by the best players from the Nordic and Baltic region.

"It is a region which, particularly through the PDC Nordic & Baltic Pro Tour, has enjoyed great growth in recent years and both we and our partners NENT Group - as well as a packed crowd at Forum Copenhagen - can't wait to see how they fare on the big stage against players like Gerwyn Price and Peter Wright."

The Nordic Darts Masters will commence on Friday September 17 with the eight ties from the first round, which see the PDC stars drawn against the regional representatives.

The afternoon session on Saturday September 18 will feature the quarter-finals, before the decisive evening session will see the semi-finals and final before the champion is crowned at Forum Copenhagen.

Kim Mikkelsen, the NENT Group Head of Sports, added: "Viaplay and Nordic Entertainment Group's most important mission is to bring entertainment to our customers.

"With the Nordic Dart Masters we bring exactly this both on our platforms and by bringing a big party to Copenhagen. We promise a couple of fantastic days with world class darts and a full party in Forum Copenhagen."

Tickets for the Nordic Darts Masters are available through Ticketmaster.

2021 Nordic Darts Masters
PDC Representatives

Gerwyn Price
Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen
Gary Anderson
Nathan Aspinall
Jonny Clayton
Dimitri Van den Bergh
Fallon Sherrock

Nordic & Baltic Representatives
Darius Labanauskas
Madars Razma
Daniel Larsson
Marko Kantele
Andreas Toft Jørgensen
Niels Heinsøe
Ivan Springborg Poulsen
Johan Engström

Nordic Darts Masters field