Dennant & Van der Wal claim Challenge Tour titles

Matthew Dennant (PDC)

Matthew Dennant and Jitse Van der Wal picked up titles as the opening Unicorn Challenge Tour weekend of 2020 drew to a close in Wigan on Sunday.

The PDC's second-tier tour continued with the third and fourth events of the year, each offering £10,000 in prize money, after Saturday's opening day saw victories for Scott Mitchell and Robert Collins.

The day began with Event Three as Dennant claimed the second Challenge Tour title of his career, and his first since 2013.

Dennant, a Tour Card Holder from 2016-17, took the scalps of Cameron Menzies, Gordon Mathers and Dave Parletti on his way to the final, while also averaging 102.5 in his last 16 win over Connor Scutt.

Northern Irish youngster Nathan Rafferty battled from 4-2 down to take the final all the way, but Dennant found a timely 180 in a 13-dart deciding leg to seal victory.

Event Three also saw former World Championship semi-finalist Andy Jenkins hit the first nine-dart finish of the year in a PDC event in his 5-4 defeat to Lukas Wenig at the last 256 stage.

Jitse van der Wal (PDC)

Event Four saw Dutch youngster Van der Wal taste victory at the end of his first weekend competing on the Challenge Tour.

The 20-year-old, who played at European Qualifying School for the first time last weekend, defeated James Hubbard 5-3 in the quarter-finals before overcoming compatriot Arjan Konterman 5-2 in the final.

The next PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour weekend will be held from April 11-12 at the Robin Park Tennis Centre in Wigan.

See full results and stats from Events Three and Four through DartConnect.

2020 PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour results
Events Three and Four, Sunday January 26

Event Three
Last 16

Paul Williams 5-2 Jamie Clark
Gordon Mathers 5-2 James Richardson
Matthew Dennant 5-3 Connor Scutt
Cameron Menzies 5-4 Jacob Gwynne
Boris Koltsov 5-2 A.J. Urmston-Toft
James Hubbard 5-2 Richie Burnett
Nathan Rafferty 5-3 Jake Jones
Graham Usher 5-4 Scott Williams

Gordon Mathers 5-1 Paul Williams
Matthew Dennant 5-1 Cameron Menzies
James Hubbard 5-2 Boris Koltsov
Nathan Rafferty 5-4 Graham Usher

Matthew Dennant 5-3 Gordon Mathers
Nathan Rafferty 5-1 James Hubbard

Matthew Dennant 5-4 Nathan Rafferty

Event Four
Last 16

Arjan Konterman 5-0 Scott Mitchell
Cody Harris 5-1 Rhys Hayden
Tytus Kanik 5-1 Dom Taylor
Scott Taylor 5-1 Boris Koltsov
James Hubbard 5-4 Steve Hine
Jitse Van der Wal 5-3 Stuart Dutton
Daniel Ayres 5-4 Eddie Lovely
Brian Raman 5-3 David Ladley

Arjan Konterman 5-4 Cody Harris
Scott Taylor 5-0 Tytus Kanik
Jitse Van der Wal 5-3 James Hubbard
Daniel Ayres 5-4 Brian Raman

Arjan Konterman 5-3 Scott Taylor
Jitse Van der Wal 5-4 Daniel Ayres

Jitse Van der Wal 5-2 Arjan Konterman