Cazoo European Championship schedule of play confirmed

Peter Wright

Peter Wright will begin his title defence against Florian Hempel on the opening night of the Cazoo European Championship, with the schedule of play for this month's Salzburg event now confirmed.

World number two Wright will take on upcoming German star Hempel on Thursday October 14, the first of six sessions of action at the Salzburgarena.

Taking place from October 14-17, the tournament features the top 32 players on the 2021 European Tour Order of Merit following the events in Hungary and Gibraltar.

Cazoo European Championship

The opening game will see Simon Whitlock, the 2012 European Champion, take on Scotland's William Borland, with 2019 winner Rob Cross also in first night action against Irish teenager Keane Barry.

Jose de Sousa, who hit a nine-darter in last year's tournament, will take on Welsh youngster Lewis Williams, while Luke Humphries and Callan Rydz meet in a contest between two of the sport's rising stars.

Friday's second night will see a further eight round one matches take place, with top seed Gerwyn Price up against Ritchie Edhouse.

Four-time European Championship winner Michael van Gerwen will face Croatia's Boris Krcmar, while 2018 champion James Wade meets Adam Smith-Neale.

Hungarian Darts Trophy runner-up Michael Smith will face Ryan Searle in a repeat of their meeting at July's World Matchplay.

The tournament will then continue with the second round across two sessions on Saturday October 16, ahead of Sunday's decisive final stages.

Tickets are on sale now through PDC Europe – CLICK HERE TO BOOK TICKETS.

To gain entry to the venue, all fans will be required to show proof of a completed approved Covid-19 vaccination, proof of recovery from Covid-19 or a negative Covid-19 test.

The tournament will be broadcast on ITV4 in the UK, through the PDC's international broadcast partners including RTL7 and DAZN, through PDCTV for Rest of the World Subscribers and via

2021 Cazoo European Championship
Thursday October 14
Evening Session (2000 local time, 1900 BST)
First Round x8

Simon Whitlock v William Borland
Brendan Dolan v Kim Huybrechts
Rob Cross v Keane Barry
Luke Humphries v Callan Rydz
Jose de Sousa v Lewis Williams
Peter Wright v Florian Hempel
Mensur Suljovic v Adam Hunt
Joe Cullen v Ted Evetts

Friday October 15
Evening Session (2000 local time, 1900 BST)
First Round x8

Adam Gawlas v Joe Murnan
Krzysztof Ratajski v Danny Noppert
James Wade v Adam Smith-Neale
Nathan Aspinall v Mervyn King
Michael Smith v Ryan Searle
Michael van Gerwen v Boris Krcmar
Gerwyn Price v Ritchie Edhouse
Damon Heta v Gabriel Clemens

Saturday October 16
Afternoon Session (1345 local time, 1245 BST)
Second Round x4

Evening Session (2000 local time, 1900 BST)
Second Round x4

Sunday October 17
Afternoon Session (1345 local time, 1245 BST)

Evening Session (2000 local time, 1900 BST)
Semi-Finals & Final