2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts qualification criteria confirmed

Gerwyn Price celebrates his 2021 Grand Slam success

The qualification criteria for the 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts has been confirmed ahead of November’s tournament at the Aldersley Leisure Village.

The prestigious 32-player event returns to Wolverhampton from November 12-20, as the sport’s biggest names battle it out for the iconic Eric Bristow Trophy.

Reigning champion Gerwyn Price, who sealed his third Grand Slam crown 12 months ago, headlines this year’s field alongside World Champion Peter Wright and three-time winner Michael van Gerwen, who was recently crowned as Premier League champion.

The finalists from PDC televised events over a 12-month period will make up 16 places at this year’s Grand Slam, and 11 of those spots are currently occupied.

Price, Wright and Van Gerwen are among the players to have won televised events during the qualifying period, alongside Masters champion Joe Cullen and UK Open winner Danny Noppert.

Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock will also feature after guiding Australia to their maiden Cazoo World Cup of Darts success in Frankfurt earlier this month.

World Championship runner-up Michael Smith has sealed his spot, with Dave Chisnall, Ryan Searle and Jonny Clayton also amongst the current qualifiers.

The Betfred World Matchplay, BoyleSports World Grand Prix, Cazoo European Championship and Jack's World Series of Darts Finals provide four more opportunities for players to seal their qualification through televised events.

Jose De Sousa, the Grand Slam champion in 2020, has yet to book his Wolverhampton return, while James Wade and Gary Anderson are also battling to preserve their ever-present records in the tournament.

However, if the 16 places are not filled from the televised events, winners from the 2022 PDC European Tour and then Players Championship events could also secure Grand Slam spots.

A further eight players will come through the PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier on November 6, before the 32-player field is completed with an additional eight qualifiers.

Reigning World Youth champion Ted Evetts and last year's runner-up Nathan Rafferty have confirmed their qualification, while North American Championship winner Leonard Gates will make his debut in a PDC Premier event.

The trio will be joined by the Challenge Tour, Development Tour and Women’s Series Order of Merit winners, as well as the inaugural Women’s World Matchplay and PDC Asian Championship winners.

Tickets for the 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts will go on staggered sale from Monday July 18. Click here for ticket information.

Grand Slam of Darts Dates

2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts
Qualifying Players (invited in the following order)

2021/22 PDC World Champion - PETER WRIGHT - 1
2021 Grand Slam Champion - GERWYN PRICE - 2
2022 Premier League Champion - MICHAEL VAN GERWEN - 3
2022 World Matchplay Champion
2022 World Grand Prix Champion
2022 Masters Champion - JOE CULLEN - 4
2022 UK Open Champion - DANNY NOPPERT - 5
2022 European Champion
2021 Players Championship Finals Champion (Peter Wright)
2022 World Series of Darts Finals Champion
2022 World Cup Champions x2 - DAMON HETA & SIMON WHITLOCK - 6+7
2021/22 PDC World Championship runner-up - MICHAEL SMITH - 8
2021 Grand Slam runner-up (Peter Wright)
2022 Premier League runner-up (Joe Cullen)
2022 World Matchplay runner-up
2022 World Grand Prix runner-up
2022 Masters runner-up - DAVE CHISNALL - 9
2022 UK Open runner-up (Michael Smith)
2022 European Championship runner-up
2021 Players Championship Finals runner-up - RYAN SEARLE - 10
2022 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up
2022 World Cup runners-up x2 - (Gerwyn Price) & JONNY CLAYTON - 11

2022 European Tour Event Winners
In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order – 

Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):
LUKE HUMPHRIES (3), (Michael van Gerwen x3), (Gerwyn Price), (Michael Smith)

2022 Players Championship Event Winners
In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order
Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):

(Michael Smith x3), (Michael van Gerwen x2), (Joe Cullen x2), (Peter Wright), (Gerwyn Price), (Ryan Searle), (Damon Heta), (Luke Humphries), DIRK VAN DUIJVENBODE, NATHAN ASPINALL, JIM WILLIAMS, SCOTT WILLIAMS, Danny Jansen.

PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier
8x Players (Sunday November 6)

Additional Qualifiers
2021 World Youth Champion - TED EVETTS
2021 World Youth Championship runner-up - NATHAN RAFFERTY
2022 Challenge Tour Order of Merit Winner
2022 Development Tour Order of Merit Winner
2022 Women’s World Matchplay Winner
2022 Women's Series Order of Merit Winner         
2022 PDC Asian Championship Winner        
2022 North American Championship Winner - LEONARD GATES