Cazoo Players Championship Finals race ahead of PC25-PC28

Butlin's Minehead Resort (PDC)

The race to qualify for the Cazoo Players Championship Finals continues with Players Championship events 25-28 in Barnsley this week.

The Barnsley Metrodome will play host to four Players Championship tournaments from October 20-23, featuring a field of 128 players - comprised of PDC Tour Card Holders and PDPA Associate Members.

This week’s action marks the penultimate block of ProTour competition in 2022, with the final Players Championship double-header set to be played from November 4-5.

Following the conclusion of Players Championship 30, the top 64 players on the Players Championship Order of Merit will qualify for the Players Championship Finals, which will be held in Minehead from November 25-27.

World Grand Prix runner-up Nathan Aspinall tops the Players Championship Order of Merit with six events remaining, after scooping a brace of titles since returning from a serious wrist injury earlier this year.

World Championship runner-up Michael Smith and World Cup winner Damon Heta are tied in second spot above Luke Humphries, who has scooped five PDC ranking titles in a trophy-laden 2022 campaign.

Dutch star Dirk van Duijvenbode and 2018 World Champion Rob Cross occupy fifth and sixth place on the Order of Merit, with Masters champion Joe Cullen in seventh spot.

Peter Wright and Ryan Searle – who contested last year’s final in Minehead – are joint eighth, ahead of 2016 Players Championship Finals runner-up Dave Chisnall.

Gerwyn Price and Michael van Gerwen are further adrift in joint 15th position, although Van Gerwen will not add to his tally in Barnsley, with the Dutchman sitting out of this week’s quadruple-header.

Daryl Gurney – who defeated Van Gerwen to lift the Players Championship Finals title in 2018 – is 27th on the Order of Merit, with ten-time TV title winner James Wade in 40th position.

Five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld – who sits in 42nd – is poised to make his first big stage appearance since March’s UK Open, with World Cup winner Simon Whitlock just £750 behind the Dutchman in 47th.

Elsewhere, 2014 champion Gary Anderson is yet to secure his place at Minehead, while veteran duo Steve Beaton and Ian White are just above the provisional qualification places heading into Thursday's opening event.

2021 World Cup of Darts winner John Henderson is £750 below the cut-off ahead of Thursday's Players Championship 25, with former Lakeside Champion Scott Mitchell and Lithuanian star Darius Labanauskas also among the chasing pack.

Listed below are the latest standings on the Players Championship Finals Order of Merit.

Players Championship Finals - Order of Merit race