PDC Quartet Progress In Topic IDL

RAYMOND VAN BARNEVELD knocked defending champion Mervyn King out of the Topic International Darts League, and secured his place in round two on Sunday night.

The Dutchman bounced back from losing his opening game in Nijmegen to defeat Vincent van der Voort on Saturday.

And he booked a spot in the second round by overcoming King 6-3 on Sunday evening to send the 2005 champion out of the event.

Roland Scholten also lost his first game, but 6-1 victories over Johnny Nijs and Albertino Essers mean that he will be in the last 16.

The two Dutchmen now look set to meet in the second round, which sees the top two from each group progress into four more groups of four players.

As winners of Group A and Group B respectively, van Barneveld and Scholten will be paired in Group I for the second phase, along with the runner-up in Group E and F.

Phil Taylor has progressed undefeated, winning 6-5 against Darryl Fitton and Paul Hanvidge before completing the first whitewash of the event in his final group game, against Co Stompe.

Colin Lloyd will also be in the second round, having won 6-2 against Martin Atkins on Sunday afternoon to leave him unbeaten in Group D.

Lloyd lost 6-3 to last weekend's Holland Casino Open Holland winner Michael van Gerwen in the night's final game.

However, his earlier results mean that he finished top of Group D - and sets up a second round meeting with Taylor, who was the Group C winner.

Ronnie Baxter came from behind in his second match, against John Walton, to grab his first win with a narrow 6-5 triumph.

He plays his final group game against third seed Niels de Ruiter on Monday evening - needing to win to ensure a place in the last 16.

Picture courtesy Robert Lusing, Topic IDL

Topic International Darts League
Sunday Results
Afternoon Session

Phil Taylor 6-5 Paul Hanvidge
Darryl Fitton 6-4 Co Stompe
Tony Eccles 6-3 Michael van Gerwen
Colin Lloyd 6-2 Martin Atkins
Niels de Ruiter 6-5 Ted Hankey
Ronnie Baxter 6-5 John Walton
Gary Anderson 6-3 Brian Sorensen
Per Laursen 6-3 Paul Hogan
Tony Martin 6-1 Shaun Greatbatch
Tony O'Shea 6-3 Mareno Michels

Evening Session
Martin Adams 6-3 Andy Fordham
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Dick van Dijk
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Johnny Nijs
Roland Scholten 6-1 Albertino Essers
Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Mervyn King
Gary Robson 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Darryl Fitton 6-2 Paul Hanvidge
Phil Taylor 6-0 Co Stompe
Tony Eccles 6-1 Martin Atkins
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Colin Lloyd