Unibet Premier League Predictor: Final standings

Unibet Premier League

Sep 07 2020

Did you finish in the top 100 of the Unibet Premier League Predictor final standings?

Proud Aspinall reflects on 'emotional' Premier League night

Unibet Premier League

Sep 06 2020

Nathan Aspinall has reflected on an 'emotional' night which saw him claim a place in the Premier League Play-Offs.

Van Gerwen gives frank assessment of Play-Off disappointment

Unibet Premier League

Sep 06 2020

Michael van Gerwen gave an honest assessment of his failure to reach the Unibet Premier League Play-Offs.

Aspinall, Wright & Anderson qualify for Play-Offs on Night 16

Unibet Premier League

Sep 05 2020

Nathan Aspinall, Peter Wright and Gary Anderson qualified for the Unibet Premier League Play-Offs on Night 16.

Play-Off permutations ahead of Unibet Premier League Night 16

Unibet Premier League

Sep 05 2020

We take a look at the possible permutations ahead of the final night of league phase action.

Van Gerwen and Price keep Play-Off hopes alive on Night 15

Unibet Premier League

Sep 04 2020

Michael van Gerwen and Gerwyn Price kept their Play-Off hopes alive on Unibet Premier League Night 15.

Unibet Premier League odds update - duo new joint-favourites

Unibet Premier League

Sep 04 2020

Gary Anderson and Peter Wright are the new joint favourites to win the Unibet Premier League.

Durrant battles back to draw with Van Gerwen on Night 14

Unibet Premier League

Sep 03 2020

Glen Durrant battled back to draw with Michael van Gerwen on Night 14 of the Unibet Premier League.

Pressure on Van Gerwen to claim first win over Durrant

Unibet Premier League

Sep 03 2020

We look ahead to tonight's crunch Unibet Premier League clash between Glen Durrant and Michael van Gerwen.

Wright thrashes Van Gerwen on Night 13

Unibet Premier League

Sep 02 2020

Peter Wright claimed a thumping 8-1 win over Michael van Gerwen on Night 13.

THE 2019 Unibet Premier League season takes place from February to May across 16 successive Thursday nights.

The opening nine weeks see the ten players face each other once in the league phase, before the bottom two players in the league table following Judgement Night are eliminated.

The remaining eight players face each other once more in the remaining six league nights, before the top four players progress to compete in the Play-Offs.

RAYMOND VAN BARNEVELD'S final Premier League appearance ended in a 7-1 defeat to Michael van Gerwen on an emotionally-charged night at Rotterdam Ahoy.

Van Barneveld's defeat to Daryl Gurney on Night Eight 24 hours earlier had eliminated the Dutch legend him from the competition, and he was unable to end his 14th Premier League season on a high note in front of his army of adoring Dutch fans.

The five-time World Champion afterwards announced his intention to retire immediately, bringing forward his planned swansong at the World Championship later this year.

"It was emotional," said Van Barneveld. "Rotterdam was always good to me and I'd never lost here but I played really bad against Daryl and today I knew I was eliminated.

"The Premier League brought me everything but I'm not good enough. I've made a decision and I'm done now. I don't want the pain any more.

"I'm okay with this decision. I'm relieved. I'm still a proud man and I want to thank Sky, the PDC and all the guys who helped for me all these years."

The 2014 Premier League champion was making his 210th and final Premier League appearance, but soon found himself 4-0 down to a red-hot Van Gerwen as the World Champion took control.

Van Barneveld avoided the whitewash with tops in leg five, only for a ruthless Van Gerwen to reel off the final three legs to condemn the tearful five-time World Champion to a crushing defeat.

Victory for Van Gerwen keeps the four-time Premier League champion at the top of the table and on track to win the league phase for a seventh consecutive year since his 2013 debut.

"Of course it was difficult playing that match, I had a poor performance against Raymond here last year so to win 7-1 is phenomenal," said Van Gerwen.

"What Raymond did for the sport is great, but when I saw him crying at the start of the match I made sure I kept my focus on getting the job done.

"He has been a phenomenal player, he's put the sport on the map in the Netherlands and I hope I can take it even further.

"To perform in front of this crowd means everything to me, and if it wasn't for Raymond then none of this would be possible."

Van Gerwen now sits ahead of Rob Cross at the top of the table on leg difference after the former World Champion came from 3-1 down to defeat Contender Jeffrey de Zwaan 7-4.

Youngster De Zwaan showed no nerves in front of 10,000 Dutch fans as he took out 151 in a superb opening, but five straight legs from Cross included a key 124 bull finish as he took control before sealing the win.

"Jeffrey had a great start to the game and I was chasing the game, and when I hit the front it got a little bit easier for me and quietened the crowd a little bit," said Cross.

"It was incredible to be a part of it. Jeffrey was superb and I didn't feel I played my best but I still got the job done.

"Yesterday it wasn't meant to be so it's really nice to win tonight, and I had to graft."

James Wade now sits in third place after defeating Michael Smith 7-4, coming from 3-1 down with a clinical display of finishing to claim his fourth win of the season, averaging 102.44 in the process.

Smith had missed double 12 for a nine-dart finish in the game's opening leg, and now sits in eighth place moving into the second half of the season.

Daryl Gurney made it three wins in a row with a 7-3 success over Mensur Suljovic heading into his Belfast homecoming on Night Ten.

Players Championship Finals winner Gurney fired in six 180s in a dominant display which saw him win five of the last six legs, leaving Suljovic to rue his eight wayward darts at double.

"I put a lot of pressure on myself to win the game because I knew I could move into the top four, so when the last double went in it was a big relief," said Gurney.

"Getting into the top four is my aim and I'm doing everything I can to improve my performance and get to where I want to be, but three wins in a row is good for my confidence going to Belfast next week."

Gerwyn Price defied finishes of 160 and 118 from Peter Wright to claim a 7-5 victory which sees him move above the Scot into sixth place, sitting two points adrift of the top four going into the second half of the season.

"It was a tough game and I'm glad to go up there and win," said Price. "I felt like I was in control of the game, and even when Peter went in front I was confident I could come back.

"There was less pressure today because I knew I couldn't be eliminated, but I needed a win today to get myself back in contention.

"Now, I want to push for the top four in the second half of the season."

The Premier League season continues on Thursday April 4 at The SSE Arena in Belfast, where Northern Ireland's Gurney will face Cross in one of four clashes to begin the race for Play-Off spots.

Van Gerwen will take on Price, Suljovic plays Wade and Smith will face Wright in the other contests as the tournament returns to Belfast.

The action will be shown live on Sky Sports, worldwide through the PDC's broadcast partners, and through PDCTV-HD for Rest of the World Subscribers.

2019 Premier League Night Nine (Rotterdam Ahoy)

2019 Premier League
Judgement Night - Thursday March 28

Rotterdam Ahoy
Daryl Gurney 7-3 Mensur Suljovic
Gerwyn Price 7-5 Peter Wright
Rob Cross 7-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Michael van Gerwen 7-1 Raymond van Barneveld
James Wade 7-4 Michael Smith

Night Ten - Thursday April 4
The SSE Arena, Belfast

Mensur Suljovic v James Wade
Michael Smith v Peter Wright
Rob Cross v Daryl Gurney
Michael van Gerwen v Gerwyn Price
Tickets: 028 9073 9074 or click here.