MICHAEL VAN GERWEN claimed his third European Tour title of 2018 as he beat James Wade 8-3 in Sunday’s European Darts Grand Prix final in Sindelfingen.

The world number one produced an astonishing Sunday evening display, hitting three 110-plus averages in his quarter-final, semi-final and final matches.

Van Gerwen swept past Alan Tabern, Darren Webster, Dave Chisnall, Michael Smith - in just over ten minutes with a semi-final whitewash - and Wade to clinch the £25,000 prize.

“I think that was my best ever tournament,” said the Dutchman, who picked up his 23rd European Tour win with the success.

Van Gerwen (PDC)

“To average over 110 for three games in a row is special.

“Other players always push me, and I have to do something special to win these games.

“James is back on track and playing consistently well again. He pushed me all the way especially at the start of the game.”

Van Gerwen was on fire from the start of the final as he fired in an 11-dart leg to break the Wade throw.

Wade missed darts to break straight back, as the two-time World Champion punished him with a 42 checkout.

Wade got his first leg on the board with a magnificent 121 checkout on the bull, before both players exchanged holds of throw at 3-2.

A stunning 161 finish from Van Gerwen delighted the German crowd, but Wade kept himself in the game in the following leg after the Dutchman missed darts to break.

At 4-3 up, Van Gerwen went into overdrive as he rattled off four legs in quick succession to wrap up his tenth PDC title of the year.

Wade (PDC)

Wade, who featured in his first European Tour final since May 2016, saw off German crowd favourite Max Hopp, John Henderson, Rob Cross, Simon Whitlock and Danny Noppert en route to the final.

Noppert enjoyed his best run on the European Tour, as he overcame Krzysztof Ratajski, Gerwyn Price, Peter Wright and Joe Cullen on the way to the last four.

Meanwhile, Smith beat Arron Monk, Jermaine Wattimena and Jamie Lewis en route to his semi-final tie with Van Gerwen, only to see the world number one end his hopes in emphatic style.

The PDC European Tour continues from May 11-13 with the Dutch Darts Masters in Zwolle with the first of two £135,000 to be held in the Netherlands this year, with coverage to be broadcast at PDCTV-HD and through a series of bookmakers' websites worldwide.

2018 European Darts Grand Prix
Sunday May 6
Afternoon Session

Third Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Darren Webster
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Ian White
Jamie Lewis 6-5 Paul Nicholson
Michael Smith 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Danny Noppert 6-5 Peter Wright
Joe Cullen 6-3 Kyle Anderson
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
James Wade 6-5 Rob Cross

Evening Session
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Michael Smith 6-2 Jamie Lewis
Danny Noppert 6-5 Joe Cullen
James Wade 6-3 Simon Whitlock

Michael van Gerwen 7-0 Michael Smith
James Wade 7-3 Danny Noppert

Michael van Gerwen 8-3 James Wade

Watch Online

PDC European Tour events can be watched online by all PDCTV-HD Subscribers worldwide - click here to visit PDCTV-HD.

Live coverage with faster streams may also be available at the following bookmakers' websites:
bet365 - www.bet365.com - Worldwide
Bet90 - www.bet90.com - Brazil, Germany
Betfair - www.betfair.com - Brazil, Denmark, England, Ireland, Northern ireland, Scotland, Spain, Wales
Betfred - www.betfred.com - England, Ireland, Northern ireland, Scotland, Wales
bwin - www.bwin.com - Worldwide
Fonbet - www.fonbet.com - Armenia, Belarus, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Russian federation, Ukraine
Ligastavok - www.ligastavok.ru/ - Russia
Marathonbet - www.betmarathon.com - Belarus, Russian federation, Spain, Ukraine
Napoleonbet - www.en-gb.sports.napoleongames.be - Belgium
Nike - www.nike.sk - Slovakia
Olimp - www.betolimp.com - Kazakhstan, Russian federation
Paddy Power - www.paddypower.com/ - England, Ireland, Northern ireland, Scotland, Wales
Stoiximan - www.stoiximan.gr - Cyprus, Greece, Romania
Superbet - www.superbet.ro/ - Romania, Poland
Tempobet - www.tempobet.org - Europe
Totogaming - www.totogaming.am/en/ - Armenia
Tipsport - www.tipsport.cz - Czech Republic & Slovakia
Unibet - www.unibet.com - Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, United Kingdom
William Hill - www.williamhill.com - Great Britain, Ireland, Spain
Winlinebet - www.winlinebet.ru - Russia
World Sports Betting - www.worldsportsbetting.co.za - Namibia, South Africa