James Wade won his fifth PDC title of the year at Players Championship 24 in Barnsley on Wednesday.

Wade, whose four previous wins in 2019 also came at Players Championship events, continued his consistent floor form to pocket yet another £10,000 top prize.

The final between Wade and Chisnall saw a meeting of two players who were yet to lose a ranking final this year, but it was Wade who prevailed to maintain his unbeaten record.

"It was a nerve-wracking final," Wade admitted.

"I thought I was going to have it over and done with a lot quicker than I did but it's onwards and upwards from here."

James Wade (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

A slow start to the final from Danish Darts Open champion Chisnall was punished by Wade, who took out 76 to break throw in the opening leg, before finding double one in leg three for a second break of throw.

From there, Wade maintained his commanding position with holds of throw, while Chisnall needed to take out a magnificent 126 finish on the bull to hold throw at 5-2.

Another three holds of throw followed, as Wade went within a leg of the match at 7-3, before Chisnall held and then took out 98 in two darts for a first break of throw to stay alive at 7-5.

Chisnall then inadvertently left 14 but made no mistake on double seven to go within a leg of Wade for the first time, only for Wade to find his favourite double ten with his last dart in hand for an 82 checkout to seal victory.

Wade, who will defend his Unibet European Championship title in Germany next month, began the day with wins over Marko Kantele, Jonathan Worsley and James Richardson.

The world number eight then produced his best performance of the day against Raymond van Barneveld, averaging 105 to seal his path to the quarter-finals where he edged past Jermaine Wattimena 6-5.

Wade then ended the dream run of Scott Taylor, who reached his second ProTour semi-final despite entering the tournament as a late replacement for Michael van Gerwen.

John Henderson (PDC)

The second day of the mid-week ProTour double-header also saw John Henderson hit a nine-dart finish in his Last 16 victory over Ron Meulenkamp, while Czech Darts Open winner Jamie Hughes made it three ProTour semi-finals for the year.

The 2019 ProTour campaign continues with the International Darts Open in Riesa from September 13-15.

The 12th European Tour event of the year will be streamed on video.pdc.tv from Friday at 1200 BST.

See full Players Championship 24 results in the Match Centre.

Players Championship 24
Wednesday September 11
Last 16

Scott Taylor 6-5 Devon Petersen
Justin Pipe 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Peter Wright
James Wade 6-3 Raymond van Barneveld
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Gerwyn Price
James Wilson 6-3 Glen Durrant
John Henderson 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Benito van de Pas

Scott Taylor 6-4 Justin Pipe
James Wade 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Jamie Hughes 6-3 James Wilson
Dave Chisnall 6-3 John Henderson

James Wade 7-4 Scott Taylor
Dave Chisnall 7-6 Jamie Hughes

James Wade 8-6 Dave Chisnall