Price '100% focused' on Players Championship Finals goal

Gerwyn Price

Gerwyn Price insists he isn't thinking about his World Championship title defence ahead of this weekend's Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals.

Price's comprehensive defeat of Peter Wright in Sunday's Grand Slam final ensures the Welshman will head to Alexandra Palace as world number one.

However, the 36-year-old explained that his sole focus is on winning the Players Championship Finals for the first time, having reached the final and semi-finals in 2019 and 2020 respectively.

"The Players Championship Finals is a big event, I will be 100% concentrating on that one first and then look forward to the Worlds after that," Price explained.

"It's another tournament I want to tick off my list after coming close the last couple of years.

"Hopefully I can get through the first few rounds, because when it comes to quarters, semis and finals I seem to find an extra gear.

"I'm flying right now and I'm really looking forward to this weekend. To beat Peter, the world number two, in the fashion I did, I'm full of confidence.

"As much as I want to, it wasn't my priority to stay as world number one, but as long as I'm winning tournaments then it makes it harder for everybody else to knock me off."

The Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals will be broadcast on ITV4 in the UK, through DAZN in various worldwide territories, via RTL7 in the Netherlands and the PDC's global broadcast partners.

PDCTV coverage on Friday and Saturday from Stage Two will be available worldwide.

2021 Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals
Friday November 26

First Round
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)
Main Stage

Ryan Searle v Simon Whitlock
Krzysztof Ratajski v Ron Meulenkamp
Michael Smith v William Borland
Joe Cullen v Andy Boulton
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Madars Razma
James Wade v Ricky Evans
Nathan Aspinall v Jeff Smith
Adrian Lewis v Kim Huybrechts

Stage Two
Scott Mitchell v Martijn Kleermaker
Ryan Joyce v Luke Woodhouse
Martin Schindler v Ian White
Mervyn King v Darius Labanauskas
Brendan Dolan v Chas Barstow
Ross Smith v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Danny Noppert v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Gabriel Clemens v Steve Beaton

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Main Stage

Stephen Bunting v Gary Anderson
Raymond van Barneveld v Maik Kuivenhoven
Rob Cross v Jermaine Wattimena
Jose de Sousa v Devon Petersen
Gerwyn Price v Jason Lowe
Michael van Gerwen v Kevin Doets
Peter Wright v Keane Barry
Jonny Clayton v Alan Tabern

Stage Two 
Vincent van der Voort v Jelle Klaasen
Daryl Gurney v Alan Soutar
Damon Heta v Steve Lennon
Callan Rydz v Mensur Suljovic
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Ryan Meikle
Luke Humphries v Jason Heaver
Chris Dobey v William O'Connor
Dave Chisnall v Ritchie Edhouse

Saturday November 27
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

Main Stage
8x Matches TBC

Stage Two
8x Matches TBC

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Third Round
Main Stage
4x Matches TBC

Stage Two
4x Matches TBC

Sunday November 28
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)
Main Stage


Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Main Stage

Plus PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship final