Agony for Lim as PDC Asian Championship reaches last eight

Lourence Ilagan (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Five Japanese stars and three contenders from the Philippines will compete for the PDC Asian Championship title on Sunday, as the battle for the $15,000 title intensified in Fukuoka.

Following two days of Asian Series Qualifiers, the 48-player field in the main PDC Asian Championship event competed on Saturday in the round-robin stage and the last 16 of the knockout phase.

Women's star Mikuru Suzuki suffered heartbreak with a final-game loss in the group stage, while former World Championship qualifiers Seigo Asada, Ting Chi Royden Lam and Edward Foulkes also lost out in the round-robin phase.

The 16 group winners progressed to the knockout final stages, which will conclude on Sunday with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

Veteran star Paul Lim suffered an agonising 5-4 loss to Toru Suzuki in a dramatic clash, with the Singapore star hitting back from 3-0 down with three 14-darters before a 170 finish forced a deciding leg.

However, Lim missed two match darts before Japan's Suzuki checked out 74 for victory and a quarter-final spot, where he meets fellow countryman Yuki Yamada.

Yoshihisa Baba, who hit a 104 average during the group stage, will play Philippines' Christian Perez in the last eight.

The other two quarter-final ties see Japanese hopefuls Yuichiro Ogawa and Jun Matsuda up against Philippines stars Lourence Ilagan and Paolo Nebrida.

The PDC Asian Championship's semi-finalists will qualify for the 2022/23 Cazoo World Darts Championship, while the winner also scoops a spot in the 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts.

Sunday sees the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final take place, with all games being streamed through PDCTV from 1200 JST (0400 BST).

The PDC Asian Championship will be streamed through PDCTV for all subscribers worldwide - subscription options will include a $1.99 Day Pass and $4.99 Event Pass.

2022 PDC Asian Championship
Saturday September 24
Group A

Yong-Seok Kim 5-2 Takayuki Masatsu
Takayuki Masatsu 5-2 Kam Weng Cheng
Kam Weng Cheng 5-3 Yong-Seok Kim

Group B
Paul Lim 5-0 Man Lok Leung
Keita Ono 5-4 Man Lok Leung
Paul Lim 5-4 Keita Ono

Group C
Ting Chi Royden Lam 5-1 Yan-Bin Chen
Rodolfo Jr. Escaros 5-2 Yan-Bin Chen
Rodolfo Jr. Escaros 5-2 Ting Chi Royden Lam

Group D
Ho Tung Ching 5-4 Chaiyan Paiaree
Chaiyan Paiaree 5-2 Gan-erdene Sharavsambuu
Gan-erdene Sharavsambuu 5-3 Ho Tung Ching

Group E
Akito Yamagata 5-2 Enkhbold Surenjav
Enkhbold Surenjav 5-4 Jenn Ming Tan
Jenn Ming Tan 5-4 Akito Yamagata

Group F
Edward Foulkes 5-3 Zhiwei Lin
Jun Matsuda 5-1 Zhiwei Lin
Jun Matsuda 5-2 Edward Foulkes

Group G
Paolo Nebrida 5-2 Kota Suzuki
Paolo Nebrida 5-4 Ryuki Morikubo
Ryuki Morikubo 5-0 Kota Suzuki

Group H
Christian Perez 5-1 Basem Mohamed
Basem Mohamed 5-3 Seigo Asada
Christian Perez 5-2 Seigo Asada

Group I
Hussain Nadir Ali 5-4 Yuichiro Ogawa
Mikuru Suzuki 5-4 Hussain Nadir Ali
Yuichiro Ogawa 5-0 Mikuru Suzuki

Group J
Yoshihisa Baba 5-0 Ao Ishihara
Harith Lim 5-4 Ao Ishihara
Yoshihisa Baba 5-2 Harith Lim

Group K
Yuki Yamada 5-3 Sho Katsumi
Yuki Yamada 5-1 Raymond Copano
Sho Katsumi 5-1 Raymond Copano

Group L
Alain Abiabi 5-3 Teppei Nishi
Alain Abiabi 5-1 Tomoya Tsumura
Teppei Nishi 5-2 Tomoya Tsumura

Group M
Lok Yin Lee 5-2 Tomoya Goto
Tomoya Goto 5-0 Purevloov Tungalag
Lok Yin Lee 5-2 Purevloov Tungalag

Group N
Lourence Ilagan 5-1 Mitsuhiko Tatsunami
Mitsuhiko Tatsunami 5-2 Shingo Enomata
Shingo Enomata 5-3 Lourence Ilagan

Group O
Toru Suzuki 5-2 Teng Lieh Pupo
Toru Suzuki 5-0 Mohd Abdul Mannan Syed
Teng Lieh Pupo 5-0 Mohd Abdul Mannan Syed

Group P
Yutaka Sunakawa 5-2 Zhao Cheng Tay
Ryusei Azemoto 5-2 Zhao Cheng Tay
Yutaka Sunakawa 5-4 Ryusei Azemoto

Last 16
Yuichiro Ogawa 5-1 Akito Yamagata
Lourence Ilagan 5-0 Chaiyan Paiaree
Christian Perez 5-2 Rodolfo Jr. Escaros
Yoshihisa Baba 5-2 Alain Abiabi
Yuki Yamada 5-1 Yong-Seok Kim
Toru Suzuki 5-4 Paul Lim
Paolo Nebrida 5-4 Lok Yin Lee
Jun Matsuda 5-0 Yutaka Sunakawa

Sunday September 25
Yuichiro Ogawa v Lourence Ilagan
Christian Perez v Yoshihisa Baba
Yuki Yamada v Toru Suzuki
Paolo Nebrida v Jun Matsuda